Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > orchidgeeks growing project #1 > SPECIES GROWING PROJECT #1.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2011, 10:12 AM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 4,080 Times in 1,190 Posts
Shannara is on a distinguished road
Cool Holcoglossum wangii grow project *Unofficial*

This is an 'unofficial' growing project for the Holcoglossum wangii that Rachel (aka Filb) and I decided to challenge each other on. Seeing as I have never done this before I hope that this is the correct place to post this thread. Emmaye has already requested to join in and any of my fellow geeks are welcome to participate. The Holco's we purchased are currently at Oak Hill in 2" pots for $10.00.

For those participating I thought we could discuss how we want to approach this project. Please feel free to give suggestions or ideas on this project as I have never participated in one before. My suggestion is that we take a picture of our Holcos at least once a month and post a progress report. We can include what kind of sun exposure, watering schedule, and food we are giving them. The main goal being to try and flower our Holco first while also sharing anything we learn in the meantime with our fellow geeks on how to successfully grow this chid.

The intial post of your Holco can show how you have decided to grow yours, potted or mounted, what type of media, etc. I have already received my Holco and will be posting photos shortly of my adventure in repotting him. I decided it was a him this time...not sure why...lol.

Shann~

>>
My 2012 Grow Area<<
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Shannara For This Useful Post:
Ladyofthelakes (11-24-2012), orchids4me (05-20-2011), plantloverlisa (05-20-2011), Stitz (05-30-2011)
Old 05-20-2011, 10:34 AM
Super Moderator Photobucket