Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Potting Mediums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2013, 09:58 PM

azredsand is on a distinguished road
Oncidium medium ratios

Hello,

I'm extremely new to growing orchids. I recently purchased an oncidium from Trader Joe's. It is in moss and I want to repot. What is a good medium. I am willing to make my own. I am thinking of using coir, perlite, and charcoal. I also have CHC available to use. What is a good ratio to use? Does anyone have pictures or success stories of plants growing in this type of medium. Any thoughts will be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 04-06-2013, 10:15 PM

xKTx is on a distinguished road
Oncidiums aren't too picky in my experience. I have a couple oncidium hybrids that I keep in a general bark orchid mix that's around 60% bark, 20%perlite, 10% charcoal, 10% sphagnum, they seem pretty happy..
Old 04-06-2013, 11:44 PM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 1,111 Times in 1,016 Posts
Leafmite is on a distinguished road
I agree that these will grow in a variety of mediums. I grow mine in 100% red lava rock.
Old 04-06-2013, 11:48 PM
Senior Member Photobucket

Thanked 1,265 Times in 954 Posts
Fishmom is on a distinguished road
I use a mix that is similar to what xKTx uses but without the sphagnum. For oncidiums, which have pretty fine roots, you'll want fairly small-sized bark pieces, if that is what you end up with. Your climate in Arizona will be dry, so the sphag might be a good addition, as it will help hold water. Coir also holds water well, so it would also be practical for a desert area.

I agree, oncs are not picky about medium, but they do like plenty of moisture. You will just have to monitor how long it takes before your chosen mix begins to get dry, and water appropriately. You can do that by keeping a bamboo skewer in the mix, and when it feels more dry you need to water.