Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Pests and Diseases

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2011, 11:27 AM

Orchids&Unicorns is on a distinguished road
What were the white bugs in my medium?

I've had my phal Arctic Dawn for about three weeks. It was one of those Lowes plants that comes in a glass cube packed with moss. I repotted it in the Better Gro mix that has bark, perlite and charcoal in it. Amazingly the roots were pretty healthy and everything seemed fine.

Yesterday I noticed one of the bottom leaves was looking very limp and since I'm an orchid newbie and killed my first orchid from over watering, I thought I'd better pull it out and do a root check. To my surprise all the roots looked healthy except for one or two which I trimmed. However the limp leaf fell off. I think I had potted it a bit low and when I was misting that leaf was staying wet.

I was getting ready to repot it when I noticed some tiny white bugs in the bark. They were so small you could hardly see them and there was only a few, running around. They didn't have wings and there were none on the plant itself. What could they have been? Freaked, I chucked out the mix, soaked the plant in soapy water just in case and repotted in fresh mix. Where could these bugs have come from? This plant is kept indoors and has been kept seperate from my other plants. I'd like to know what they were in case they come back. I tried to get a picture but they were too small.

Thanks in advance for any advice. I've been lurking here for a few weeks and thought I'd take the plunge and join in
Old 08-19-2011, 12:32 PM
Executive Senior Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Dendian is on a distinguished road
First off - Hello and to Geeks!