• 1 Post By Smurfette
  • 2 Post By Smurfette
  • 1 Post By Smurfette

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 08:38 AM

Smurfette is on a distinguished road
Question What is going on here?

Hi all

I got this little thing through the post, it is supposed to be a Cattleya Mossaie. When I got it out of the parcel it wasn't looking the best from my point of view (but I am a newbie so I don't know much really!!!).

I'm not sure if the bulbs are meant to be that way (ridged) and it has white "skin" surrounding them like it is shedding. Also, the new growth has a black base on it which I'm not sure about and one of the smaller bulbs has two or three little black areas on it. Am worried about rot.

When I took it from its pot the roots are all slimy and mushy and appear to have green slimy stuff on them, a bit like algae or the green stuff you get on paths when it has been wet for a long time? Some of the roots near the base of the bulbs have black areas on them similar to the ones on the bulb.

I contacted the grower who said she only sells healthy plants and wasn't any help to me at all, brushing it off as being in the post for a few days and may be dehydrated. Judging by the roots I think it may be dehydrated because all the roots are rotten but thought I'd ask you all before I get back to her again.

Photos are as good as I can get them, hope you get the idea from them

Patience is a virtue gained by growing orchids
Old 08-08-2012, 08:45 AM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Catt Mandu is on a distinguished road
Sorry - no photos were attached?
Smurfette likes this.
Old 08-08-2012, 08:45 AM

And here are the photo's I forgot to attatch!!! I do it every time!!!!
Attached Thumbnails
8th-august-2012-080.jpg   8th-august-2012-083.jpg   8th-august-2012-078.jpg   8th-august-2012-084.jpg  

Old 08-08-2012, 08:46 AM

Thanks Catt - just pressed the post button when I realised!!!!!!

Old 08-08-2012, 09:07 AM
V.I.P Member