• 1 Post By Leafmite
  • 1 Post By Leafmite
  • 3 Post By Antonia

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2014, 06:56 PM

Antonia is on a distinguished road
Sick Catt! Is there any hope? :'(

Hello!
I am a newbie in orchid care topics and I need help... in December I got two orchids as gifts: a catt from my mom and a phal from my sister. My phal seemed very young and was blossoming and my catt seemed old and its flower was beginning to die. I read basic info about how to take care of them, and at the beginning everything seemed pretty OK with the phal, but the catt had strong wrinkles in its bulbs and its outside roots seemed dry so I decided to water it twice a week. New leaves started to grow so I recovered my hope, but old bulbs continued decaying and leaves started to show some black spots. Nowadays my phal is doing very good, its flowers lasted almost 4 months and now it has many strong green roots and beautiful healthy leaves, but I started suspecting that my catt is indeed very sick, new growth stopped and young leaves started showing dark spots as well. I read you guys and realized that maybe I needed to repot it seriously, though I was scared because I had never done it before.

I repotted my catt today and found several sad surprises. Indeed, some parts of the root system were quite dry, and some other were so rotten they smelled bad. I even found a dead beetle between the roots! I adapted a clear plastic pot with many holes although I think it is very wide (though no other found on the market and I preferred to intervene ASAP) and used brand new media. I cut all the dead roots with sterilized scissors, but left the ones that looked kind of "alive" (a bit darker than a healthy one but still thick and hydrated) which were not many, but at least gave me some hope. I started also using a fungicide now on it to stop fungus from spreading if that's the case. So after sharing you my first repotting experience, I still have some questions left: