• 1 Post By trev
  • 2 Post By gnathaniel
  • 1 Post By PaulB

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 03:10 PM

Mittens is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Phal (?) In Distress!

Hello All!

My husband got me an orchid for my birthday in January, and as well-intentioned as was trying to be, he didn't really inspect it. There were 3 leaves on it when I got it and 2 were cracked. The last one was a little tiny one and almost yellow. I've been trying to nurse it back to health, but I am not very experienced with orchids. There were no tags on it, but after some research I believe it is a Phla and that it is experiencing crown rot.

The leaves have been falling off over the last 2 weeks, and the final one fell off today. I took it out of the moss and trimmed off the brown roots, but some of the remaining roots look yellow while others look green (none look stellar). Still, there are three healthy looking flowers and 4 buds that look alright.

I'd love to save this plant, but I'm not sure what I should do next. I've read about spag and bag, but then I would have to cut all of the flowers off, correct? I've also read about hydrogen peroxide, cinnamon, and cutting off all of the roots and using root hormone in water to resurrect it, but I am not sure of what route to take. Any help would be appreciated because I'm running out of ideas that aren't drastic and I don't think this plant has much time left without some sort of immediate action.

Attached are pictures of what the last broken leaf looked like about a week ago, where the leaf joined the base, and then pictures of what the plant looks like today. Please help!

Thanks!

imag0281.jpg

imag0282.jpg

imag0283.jpg

imag0284.jpg

imag0285.jpg

imag0286.jpg
Old 03-03-2013, 05:02 PM
Executive Senior Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Reg22 is on a distinguished road