Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Pests and Diseases

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2009, 07:16 PM
V.I.P. Member Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 1,530 Times in 1,044 Posts
koshki is on a distinguished road
Oh no, did I burn my Bc. Little Stars x Maikai 'Hawaii'?

Hi,

I just got this last week, and put it under my new plant lights (2 T5 bulbs). My book says brassocattleyas can handle "medium to bright light". But yesterday I found one leaf turning orange and another one turning this morning. Is this sunburn or something else? The first orangish one is also getting a bit wrinkly today.
Attached Thumbnails
cimg1778.jpg   cimg1779.jpg   cimg1780.jpg   cimg1781.jpg   cimg1782.jpg   cimg1783.jpg  

Old 11-13-2009, 07:36 PM
Executive Senior Member Photobucket

Thanked 2,306 Times in 796 Posts
orchidea is on a distinguished road
I am not an expert, but I don't think it's a burn. The orangish leaf is not the closest to the light.......
Could be some other issues.....
To be save with the light is to introduce it slowly, a bit closer to it every day, I think.
Looks like a very healthy plant otherwise. It should be fine after you pinpoint the problem.....
Good luck.
Old 11-13-2009, 08:11 PM
Member Photobucket

Schlyne is on a distinguished road
I don't think it's a burn either. That seems like it'd be a weird place to be getting a burn from the lights. I don't know what would be cuasing it though
Old 11-13-2009, 08:16 PM

Thanks for the input! I hope someone will know what's happening to this cute plant!

Old 11-13-2009, 08:54 PM
V.I.P Member

Thanked 1,583 Times in 929 Posts
mehitabel is on a distinguished road
Doesn't look like sunburn to me. I think it's just a dying pb/leaf.

BTW, is that your sunroom? Fabulous!
Old 11-13-2009, 09:04 PM

Yep, that's the sunroom! I want to take some better pictures to post on the "My growing space" thread, but haven't had a chance.