Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Pests and Diseases

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By mayres

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2014, 10:41 PM

Mdon is on a distinguished road
Help - Yellowing and brown tip on Phal leaf

Hi everyone,

I noticed a large brown spot on the tip of one of the leaves of my phal. The leaf is the second one from the bottom so its not the last one. The leaf started turning yellow and it looked like the yellow part was spreading. I cut off the tip where the brown spotting was and applied cinnamon on the cut. A couple of days later, the yellow part started spreading and now it's pretty much covering one whole side of the leaf. Is this a disease? I'm worried that it will spread to the rest of the leaves. I don't think its due to age because the phal is currently in full bloom and its not the very bottom leaf. I attached some pictures of the leaf with the brown spot and yellow parts and then the leaf after I cut it. I am new to orchids and don't want my orchid to die. Please help me. Thank you!!
Attached Thumbnails
iphone-pics-148.jpg   iphone-pics-149.jpg   iphone-pics-151.jpg   iphone-pics-157.jpg  
Old 11-27-2014, 12:09 AM
V.I.P Member Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 3,205 Times in 1,285 Posts
mayres is a glorious beacon of lightmayres is a glorious beacon of lightmayres is a glorious beacon of lightmayres is a glorious beacon of lightmayres is a glorious beacon of lightmayres is a glorious beacon of light
Can we see the whole plant? Yes.....the oldest leaf will normally turn yellow and then brown and then naturally fall off......
Are the other leaves all OK? Did this leaf potentially get exposed to sun next to a window? How long have you had the plant and how do you care for it? All you can tell us about your "journey" with it will help some of us offer you a suggestion/tip.
Catsma_97504 likes this.
Old 11-27-2014, 09:35 PM

Catsma_97504 is on a distinguished road