• 1 Post By Catt Mandu
  • 1 Post By naoki
  • 1 Post By LovePhals

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2012, 10:29 PM

alaina_loves_orchids is on a distinguished road
Crown rot? (yellow leaves and crown)

Hi everyone!

I am new to growing orchids, and sadly I have killed three plants in the past two years and all of them have died from this same thing. Now, I decided to post pictures and hopefully get some assistance so I don't lose any more orchids.

Basically what is happening is the leaves on the bottom of the plant are turning yellow. I gently tugged at them this morning and they fell off very easily. I then looked at the crown and it appeared to be yellowing as well. I have attached some pictures.

Also, I was wondering if the second growth on the plant is a new orchid plant? Is there any way that I can salvage it or the plant?

Thank you SO MUCH for your assistance!
Alaina

Old 07-17-2012, 10:33 PM

Just some extra info: I water every 10-12 days. I used to use moss as well as bark, but now I only use the bark mixture.

Also, the above orchid plant was a gift from a friend. They potted it differently than me--used a ton of moss. I found that the moss was not drying out and it was constantly keeping the plant moist even when I was ready to re-water. I then found these very tiny white bugs in two of my orchid bark / moss mixture (this plant and another plant). I repotted both of them and then the yellowing happened to the one above. The other plant that I repotted does not have any sign of yellowing.
Old 07-18-2012, 12:16 AM

naoki is on a distinguished road
I guess, old crown rot of the apical meristem (right side growth) caused the side shoot. Then because of the root rot, the leaves on the right growth probably started to fall down (to adjust root-leaf balance).

Root rot recovery by Ray:
https://www.firstrays.com/root_rot_recovery.htm