Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Pests and Diseases

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2010, 05:17 AM

Aleksa is on a distinguished road
Cattleya problems

Hi people! I've been busy with college for a while, but I'm back again.

I've been growing this catt, for a few years and plant grew extremely well. It bloomed every autumn, with lots of flower stalks. I wasn't home for about year and my mother took care about the plant. When I arrived, plant seemed to be just fine, so I repotted it in larger pot like this http://www.hidroponika.com/slideshow...24020a4c8c1410

I didn't disturbed a root ball (which was incredibly compact and tight), so I just added more media around old roots. I used mix of coco chips, and clay pellets.

I placed it on a highest shelve in a greenhouse so it could get more light. After a few days I noticed a few sunburnt leaves. I removed them and placed the plant on a shadier place. Since than, plant virtually stopped growing, I noticed little black spots on almost every leaf, and some larger infection on another leaves. There are the pics. I'm thinking about fungal infection.

One more thing, temperatures are extremely high these days, about 40 degree Celsius, which might have influenced on infection spreading.

Is there anything I can do? I really wouldn't like to loose this plant since it was my healthiest, biggest and strongest orchid.

Cheers!
Attached Thumbnails
dscf0810.jpg   dscf0811.jpg   dscf0812.jpg   dscf0813.jpg  
Old 07-23-2010, 05:57 AM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 1,030 Times in 630 Posts
digitalgate is on a distinguished road
look like your plant is suffering from spider mites. You might want to use a tissue and wipe the leaf and see if the "dust " is red or yellow. Look carefully and see if the dot is moving.
Old 07-23-2010, 06:20 AM

Yvonne is on a distinguished road