Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Pests and Diseases

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2010, 09:55 AM

JungleMel is on a distinguished road
another "Does this look like a virus?" thread

Hi All,

I have zero experience with viruses and accepted this Blc. Momilani Rainbow division off a larger plant, thinking the red might have been sun burn (I have never had catts before.) I will send in some of the leaf for testing if it looks off to you guys. The larger plant belongs to my father and he has sentimental attachment to it. So I really don't want to chuck this plant unless I really have to. So please let me know what you think. The spottiness in the leaf that it bloomed off of is actually reddish, not brown.
Attached Thumbnails
005.jpg  

Last edited by JungleMel; 04-05-2010 at 09:59 AM. Reason: name of plant
Old 04-05-2010, 08:03 PM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 5,451 Times in 3,014 Posts
kmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond reputekmarch has a reputation beyond repute
I would get it tested. The red colouration on the plant doesn't pother me. It's a sign that the plant is beign growin in high light and has nothing to do with be possibility of the plant being virused. What concerns me is the colour breaks in the petals. This can be caused by a virus. I'd recommend getting it tested.
Old 04-05-2010, 08:10 PM

Thanks for your advice. So thats defineitly what a color break looks like then, oh well. Out of curiosity, what besides a virus could cause color breaks?

Last edited by JungleMel; 04-05-2010 at 08:16 PM.
Old 04-05-2010, 09:07 PM
V.I.P Member