Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Flasking and Seed Germination

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2008, 12:17 AM

plantsim is on a distinguished road
Where can one learn about cloning/tissue culture?

I want to have my own tissue culture lab one day. I've been reading anything and everything I can get my hands on, but I'm wondering if most people that do this have a college degree in something like biology, horticulture, chemistry, etc.

Is it too complicated to be self-taught?
Old 04-16-2008, 06:41 AM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Tobi is just fantasticTobi is just fantasticTobi is just fantastic
Although I've never dabbled in this so far, you would need several types of lab equipment
such as a laminar flow safety cabinet hood (for decontamination), some type of sterilizer,
and other assorted equipment. I am hoping to work with someone after I retire next year
and watch and learn. I don't think it's so much the degree as learning from someone who
has done this many times. Good luck if you do attempt it.
Old 04-16-2008, 07:10 AM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 1,239 Times in 532 Posts
jerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond repute
I have seen courses offered on the technique costing $8-12,000. After that you will find it to be hard work to make a living doing it.

The owner of a lab here recently sold out complaining he worked way too much for a barely livable wage.
Old 04-16-2008, 09:16 AM

Greenhouse Gal is on a distinguished road
Hello plantsim,