Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Flasking and Seed Germination

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By 1joyceh
  • 2 Post By exasperatus2002
  • 1 Post By orchids4me

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2013, 12:16 AM

cutefish707 is on a distinguished road
I have 4 Phalaenopsis's that have growing seed capsules...

Hello all! I am new to this forum but the website name very much fit what I am feeling

I have 4 growing seed capsules and they have been growing for a couple months now but I have started to notice a change and I wanted to see if it is normal or if I should be worried or if its getting ready to open or what! (this is my first time doing this)

In the center of the flower where the pollination took place it is starting to turn a gray color...is this normal?? and when it does open how do I keep the seeds and for how long before I sow them?

Also I have been doing research and I am reading that I need to sow, and flask my seeds once the capsule has opened....I am also reading that this will be difficult and survival rate will be low if at all.

Is is possible to maybe split the seeds from each capsule and send them out to a lab and keep the other half to try at home for the experience and to see if I can get any of them to grow. How many seeds do you put in each flask?

Any info on this or where to purchase the equipment would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks so much!!
Attached Thumbnails
006.jpg   005.jpg  

Last edited by cutefish707; 06-18-2013 at 12:21 AM.
Old 06-18-2013, 05:02 AM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 1,568 Times in 1,236 Posts
1joyceh is on a distinguished road
Hi and welcome to the forum cutefish707!
There are many threads here that answer your questions....
One to start with would be : http://www.orchidgeeks.com/forum/orc...by-step-2.html
just type in key words you want to find information on in the SEARCH engine at the top of the page, and you will find a ton of information.