Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Care Cultivation

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2008, 01:40 AM

NancyB is on a distinguished road
oncidium care

In So Cal I have my oncidiums in an eastern exposure - they seem to like it there. -- I'm seeing a lot of new growth -- we've just have a few days of rain -- it should be dry for awhile -- are there any pests or fungus I need to watch after the rain? Also, should I be using 30-10-10 for generating new growth and then switch to 20-20-20?
Old 02-26-2008, 04:44 AM
V.I.P Member Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 1,954 Times in 1,166 Posts
patticake is a glorious beacon of lightpatticake is a glorious beacon of lightpatticake is a glorious beacon of lightpatticake is a glorious beacon of lightpatticake is a glorious beacon of lightpatticake is a glorious beacon of light
Hi Nancy, You and I have very different growing conditions! I'm pretty new at this but, what I understand, is that Oncidiums have different requirements depending on the type. I know that many like to be mounted.
I have mine in a south window- a little to the side. But where I am, (Nanook of the North is my neighbor) I need the extra light. If yours is actively growing, You could rotate fertilizing. I give mine a change each time and once a month flush w/ plain water. A very weak mixture-(1/4 strength) of what the label states, is good. Orchids do well with a light fertilizing if at all.
Good luck!
Old 02-29-2008, 09:00 PM

Tommyr is on a distinguished road
Oncs. are easy (IMHO), bright, defused light, Let dry almost totally out then water well. Feed every other to 2 waterings with Miracle grow. Leave outside in the fall to get the cool, early fall temps. Then bring in. I LOVE Oncs.!
Old 02-29-2008, 09:53 PM

janice is on a distinguished road