Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > Orchid Care > Orchid Care Cultivation

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2008, 08:08 AM
Administrator
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Thanked 5,389 Times in 3,096 Posts
katrina is on a distinguished road
Question mounted Coelogyne Pandurata and OH winters

Hi Everyone! I'm new to this forum and after checking things out I believe I will learn a LOT from everyone here! I'm still relatively new to orchids -- my addiction began 2 years ago and it's now out of control.

I've recently begun branching out of some the "usuals" I can find here in OH and I'm about to purchase a specimen sized Coelogyne Pandurata mounted on a 10"x12" cork slab. I'm new to this orchid and I've never worked w/a mounted orchid.

I've searched and searched and really haven't found a definitive answer to something...I'm hoping someone can help me out.

Everything I've found so far (here and elsewhere) states this orchid needs a "full resting" period from around Oct (or leaf drop) - Mar (or until new growth begins). No watering during this time. I can do the resting period no problem...however, all the other info I've found is conflicting. Some sites say humidity must be maintained at 60% or greater -- other sites say lower humidity (around 40%) during resting is OK. Some sites say coolers temps are ok during the rest and some say never below 65 degrees F. Ay Yi Yi -- what's a person to do?

This is a beautiful orchid so naturally I want it in my collection but it's not a cheapie so I'd rather go into this with a fighting chance of keeping it alive.