• 4 Post By Catt Mandu
  • 1 Post By Orchidgirl83
  • 1 Post By mayres

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2015, 07:02 AM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Catt Mandu is on a distinguished road
Getting Lc. Tropical Pointer 'Cheetah' to bloom?

I have a Lc. Tropical Pointer 'Cheetah' that I have been growing for probably 3 or 4 years now. It seems to have reached maximum height, with new growths consistently 6 to 8 inches tall, multiple leads, probably 30 to 40 pseudobulbs, an insanely large number of roots - and it has never bloomed. I have always grown it with my other Catts (same light, etc.) which seem to bloom with no difficulty.

Any ideas why this plant may not be blooming? Does it require higher light than other Catts? What should its bloom season be? I will say that the plant has significantly outgrown its current pot. I was hoping for at least one bloom before repotting and dividing it.

Any advice appreciated.
gerneveyn likes this.
Old 12-07-2015, 08:29 AM
Administrator
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Thanked 5,372 Times in 3,084 Posts
katrina is on a distinguished road
Prior to giving it away to a fellow club member...I grew mine right along w/my other catts. I did nothing special for it and it reliably bloomed 2x a year. She is growing it along w/her other catts (also no special anything) and she is getting the same growth and blooming.

You must just have a shy one.
sunshine and Catt Mandu like this.
Catt Mandu (12-07-2015)
Old 12-07-2015, 08:58 AM
Super Moderator
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Thanked 3,628 Times in 2,184 Posts
sunshine is on a distinguished road