Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > The Orchid Geeks > Newbie Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2012, 01:41 AM

rita3095 is on a distinguished road
wrinkled bulbs

Hi everyone,
I'm very new to growing orchids (except for den. kingianum, den speciosum and the old common yellow oncidiums which I've grown on neglect for decades). I decided I needed to expand my collection, and I then found there was a whole world of cool (cold) growing orchids out there. I have since bought a few. I now need a few answers, but I'll only ask one or two at a time - don't want to wear out my welcome in a hurry

The first thing that is causing me concern is a Coelogyn cristata. Some of the bubs are starting to become wrinkled. I've had the plant for 2+ months, I live in Melbourne Australia, it's winter now, the plant was facing east, under eves, next to my masdevallias, and hand watered fortnightly. When I noticed the wrinkles (plus one leaf was becoming wrinkled), I thought it needed more water, so watered it weekly. It didn't improve. I then read they don't like light while resting, so I have now placed it in a dark corner covered by the BBQ.
Does anyone have any ideas?

A 2nd question, where should I place my Miltonia Bluntii? After I had it flowering inside, I put it in a 75% light corner, no rain. The leaves started to turn yellow, so I now have it at %50% light level. Watered fortnightly.

No3. I have about 20 Zygo pots, I picked up from an exbreeder. They were in a very bad state, soaking wet and completely pot bound, roots overhanging, some in double pots, roots everywhere. Now that the flowers have finished on a couple of them I really want to repot. But it's the middle of winter, although there are new green shoots coming up. The plants are in very small pots, the bulbs are big, and in many cases growing on top of each other. How do I repot those, break them up, or leave them in pyramid format.