Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > The Orchid Geeks > Newbie Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2006, 10:47 PM

WildOrchid is on a distinguished road
Root Rot on a new Phal???

Hi all,

I recently got a new Phal about 1 month ago. As I am new to the care of orchids, I am not really sure how to take care of it. I water the Phal once a week in the morning with room temperature tap water and I put it by a southfacing window where it gets shaded light. The humidity in my room was about 30% but I now have the humidity at 50%. The newest root in the second row of leaves was greenish white when I got the Phal but it has now shriveled at the tips. The other roots at the top of the growing medium has brown blotches all over it now (please see the attached pictures). I don't know what I am doing wrong...or what I need to do. Please help =).

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Orchid01.jpg (84.4 KB, 72 views)
File Type: jpg Orchid02.jpg (54.6 KB, 53 views)
File Type: jpg Orchid03.jpg (37.9 KB, 63 views)
Old 11-14-2006, 11:26 PM

Willc73 is on a distinguished road
Your Phal is doing good, it will loose its arial roots because you are growing it in a lower humidity environment. Your Phal was raised in a greenhouse with 60% - 70% humidity.
the roots on top are browning because of the lower humidity, but are not dying. You may be underwatering, stick your finger into the mix, if it is bone dry, then you have let it go too long between waterings.
Old 11-15-2006, 03:08 AM

atcrosby is on a distinguished road
To test whether you need to water check this post out skewer-use-for-watering-of-orchids

Also, you can mist the air roots if you decide you want to keep them going. Be careful though to do this in the mornings allowing time for them to dry. Mist the roots until you see moisture bead up since the velamin (root covering) will act as a sponge to absorb the moisture.