Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > The Orchid Geeks > Newbie Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2006, 10:00 AM

marykay is on a distinguished road
Orchid Potting

I am totally new to the wonders of Orchid Growing. My husband bought me a stunning orchid for this past mothers day and since then i have purchased a few bulbs to start on my own. I could use some potting tips.

THanks
MK
Old 06-03-2006, 10:40 AM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 1,239 Times in 532 Posts
jerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond repute
Newly purchased orchids should not be needed to be re-potted for one to two years.

I recommend re-potting only when the medium in which it is growing is too decomposed to keep the plant healthy (2-3 years for bark) or when the plant just does not look good anymore in how it fits the pot.

In general you have to remove all the old potting medium wash the roots and remove any dead or decaying roots. Often they can be re-potted in the same size pot from which they came with new potting medium.

Because of the stress from handling the roots and cutting many, it is recommended to re-pot only when the plant is actively growing and you see new roots developing. This is usually abut a month after the plant is finished flowering. This enables the plant to replace any bad roots that were removed.