Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > The Orchid Geeks > Newbie Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2011, 10:15 AM

Newbie2Orchids is on a distinguished road
I need some advice please

Hello, I am a newbie to Orchids and i have two now one as a present and one that i bought. They are both Moth Orchids. The first one that i bought i think i did the common thing and over watered it! The Leaves are drooping and some of the roots were black and mushy, there are no flowers left on it. I cut back the mushy roots leaving just light green roots and cut the stem to a cm above the 2nd node was this correct? I have moss in the pot which is what the Orchid originally came in. The leaves are also quite a dark green so i have been keeping them in a well lit place with a humidity of 65% and a temperature of 24.5c. I am now only going to re water when is needed but im not really sure when that is. I here some people say to soak all the way through and drain once a month and thats it. Some say when the pot feels light and some say once or twice a week so im not too sure. Will my Orchid come back to life do you think?
Old 08-11-2011, 10:20 AM

I need some advice please