Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > The Orchid Geeks > Newbie Questions

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Fishmom
  • 1 Post By syndywindy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2018, 12:33 AM

Sabina88 is on a distinguished road
Help With Cattleya

I'm relatively new to orchids and only have experience with Phalaenopsis orchids. Two days ago I got my first cattleya, and repotted to a larger pot (bark media) the same day. Well now two days later, many of the roots at the top look slightly or fully desiccated and the pseudobulbs are starting to get shriveled. I soaked it the first day, and when I purchased it the plant looked very healthy and the pseudobulbs were plump with no wrinkles. So I'm not sure what's going on. My best guess is that its because the roots are largely at the top and the top dries out faster. But for it to happen over the coarse of two days seems kind of fast to me . (as far as the pictures go, I did cut away most of the more desiccated roots)
Old 07-07-2018, 02:10 PM
Senior Member Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 1,255 Times in 945 Posts
Fishmom is on a distinguished road
First, stop cutting roots. The center part of the root can still function even after the outer sheathing dries out, and the plant needs all its resources to take up water during a hot summer.

When you repot, the new bark doesn't hold much water. It takes time for the bark to age slightly and hold more water. You may have to water daily at first, and if the plant is drying out (you can judge this by weight of the pot or by using a bamboo skewer) it is fine to water frequently. You don't say what your growing conditions are, but if it is hot and dry, you need to water more frequently.
Sabina88 likes this.
Old 07-07-2018, 02:39 PM

Sabina88 is on a distinguished road