Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > The Orchid Geeks > Newbie Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2007, 10:13 AM

lmgarret is on a distinguished road
Help! My Phal. is Very Sick!

Can anyone identify what is going on with my phal.? It all started with a yellow leaf and now there are black spots on most of the leaves. What should I do? My phal. was actually very healthy several weeks ago and now it is a mess. Also, I'm worried because my other orchids have been very close to this sick phal. and I'm afraid they are next. What could this sickness be....mildew, rot, or mites? Please help! I've attached some images below. Any advice, suggestions are very much appreciated because I'm a beginner in caring for orchids. Thanks in advance. Lynnette
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sick 1.jpg (42.3 KB, 236 views)
File Type: jpg sick 2.jpg (24.5 KB, 197 views)
File Type: jpg sick 3.jpg (18.2 KB, 158 views)
File Type: jpg sick 4.jpg (19.9 KB, 170 views)
Old 02-01-2007, 10:53 AM
Member Photobucket

Fabolusus is on a distinguished road
That looks like a dendrobium to me.
Old 02-01-2007, 02:45 PM

I don't know much about orchids but I believe this is Dendrobium Phalaenopsis....I could be wrong, but this is what I was told. Can you identify what is wrong with it? Thanks, Lynnette
Old 02-01-2007, 06:06 PM

Aniko is just fantasticAniko is just fantasticAniko is just fantastic
Fabolusus is right, this is a dendrobium looking plant, definitely not phalaenopsis.The leaves seem to be eaten by some bugs.The black spots, if growing, are bad signs of fungus infection.As I am quite a beginner too, I hope that somebody more experienced will help with advise what to do.
Aniko
Old 02-01-2007, 08:32 PM

Thank you for your help. Since I'm a newbie, what is the difference between a dendrobium and a phalaenopsis? THanks for your help!
Old 02-01-2007, 09:32 PM

Your Dendrobium probable is a so called Palaenopsis type .Read this thread to learn some basics: