Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > The Orchid Geeks > Newbie Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2015, 09:59 AM

iamhisru is on a distinguished road
bottom leaves turning yellow on edges

HELP! I'm looking for some information. I am a novice orchid grower of about 3 years. All of my "grocery store" bought plants (6) were doing fine until 3 months ago; when the closest leaves to the soil started to get a yellow edge on them. They are slowly turning yellow all over. Am I doing something wrong or is this normal? The upper 4 or so leaves seem to be staying healthy. Since it is happening to all the plants, is this contagious?

Last edited by iamhisru; 04-06-2015 at 10:08 AM.
Old 04-06-2015, 02:54 PM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 1,107 Times in 1,013 Posts
Leafmite is on a distinguished road
Sometimes the bottom leaves die when they age. Hopefully, that is what is happening. When you make five posts, you can share a photo so we can see what is really happening.
Old 04-06-2015, 04:53 PM

Antonia is on a distinguished road
How many leaves is each plant losing? As Leafmite says, it is pretty normal that orchids shed some bottom leaves from time to time,. A Picture will give more hints about the situation. Good luck!
Old 12-22-2016, 02:36 PM
V.I.P Member

Thanked 1,238 Times in 532 Posts
jerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond reputejerrymeola has a reputation beyond repute
Phaelanopsis in nature grow down not upside down (growing up) in a pot. search (Phalaenopsis orchid photo in situ) and see how they look in nature.