Go Back   Orchid Forum Orchid Care > orchidgeeks growing project April 2010 > general discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2011, 09:17 PM

Jlie is on a distinguished road
Question pros and cons: nurseries vs distributors?

I was on the phone with a rep from an online orchid vendor and was given the impression that an orchid distributor wasn't the best kind of place to patronize. More specifically, this distributor is said to receive plants from Hawaii and then resells them.

So....what ARE the cons?
I'm still very new to orchids (altho I'm happy to report that most of my plants are exhibiting new growth! YAY!), and therefore have a lot of space left on my windowsills to...fill. I'd prefer to shop responsibly but am not entirely sure what the difference is, lol. What should I consider in a vendor when choosing my sources? (Edit: formerly: where should i be buying from) Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited by Jlie; 12-07-2011 at 02:57 PM. Reason: clarifying vocab
Old 12-06-2011, 09:43 PM

JudyC is on a distinguished road
I really can't kick in on that topic exactly...but know I only shop for my plants at places that have quality/healthy plants and they carry a full replacement warranty ... within reason of course

The vendor I trust for my orchids I may add is a "mom/pop" small operation.

I trust my vendor and until they do me wrong, I'll continue to do business with them

When the time comes for my advancement into different varieties I will venture out to Clouds a LARGE Canadian supplier
Old 12-06-2011, 10:06 PM
V.I.P Member
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Thanked 4,080 Times in 1,190 Posts
Shannara is on a distinguished road